My EF81

My EF81

Postby brebe85 » Wed Apr 04, 2007 7:42pm

Hi!

I was thinking to start a log for my BS EF81. SandStorm, if it's ok for you i will expose my problems in a "grouped" manner. If not, please close the topic.

So, let's begin.

I bought my phone two weeks ago. It was Vodafone branded so the first "natural" thing was debranding it. How it's made? Find out in this topic http://www.siemensplanet.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4381

After that I found that my SIM was telling the phone that it has problem. It was an isolated case so if you want more informations check this link http://www.siemensplanet.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4391

In the meantime i had my phone updated to FW58. First impressions: the phone works much faster, i love the basic theme, it's an improvement.

Now i discovered a new problem: if I write music on my microSD card (by the way it's 1GB size :D ) with the card reader the phone won't recognize all the files. From the hole list, just a half is readble. Why? If I pull out the card and write a file, then push it in, the phone indeed recognize the specific file.

It's annoying because the "card reader" writes the files 10 time faster than the phone it self.

Any sugestions?

[/url]
A35 -> A50 -> C65 -> SE K608 :( -> EF81 -> E71
brebe85
A step away from n00biness
A step away from n00biness
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:30pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Postby SandStorm » Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:05pm

Your blog is a good idea.

So, lemme see...
How much musics you put each time?
Try loading them 2 to 2, or 3 to 3.
in fact, there's one limitation: the songs names must be short, and do not use special characters like , ç á à º õ, etc.

by default, 400 files in the MMC is the maximum recommendable. But that can be changed, i guess, i just need to do my homework about it . :)
User avatar
SandStorm
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11447
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:53pm
Location: Portugal

Postby brebe85 » Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:15pm

SandStorm wrote:Your blog is a good idea.

So, lemme see...
How much musics you put each time?
Try loading them 2 to 2, or 3 to 3.
in fact, there's one limitation: the songs names must be short, and do not use special characters like , ç á à º õ, etc.

by default, 400 files in the MMC is the maximum recommendable. But that can be changed, i guess, i just need to do my homework about it . :)


2 to 2 means that i have to switch off and on the phone for ... time. You know, to pull out the card you nedd to take out the battery :)

But i will take your advice regarding the file name. In meantime i have uploaded the files with phone explorer :). I'm fed up trying so with the next ocasion i will listen to your advice.

Tanks!
A35 -> A50 -> C65 -> SE K608 :( -> EF81 -> E71
brebe85
A step away from n00biness
A step away from n00biness
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:30pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Postby SandStorm » Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:32pm

Ohhhhh, i forgot your phone doesn't have hot-swap memory card. :-|


(i only have phones with hot-swap memory cards :P )
User avatar
SandStorm
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11447
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:53pm
Location: Portugal

Postby devarshi84 » Mon Apr 09, 2007 9:31am

I had this problem with my sxg75. I started transferring files 1-2 everyday. and my laptop has bluetooth so there. :D
devarshi84
A step away from n00biness
A step away from n00biness
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 5:11am
Location: Toronto - Ahmedabad, India

Postby brebe85 » Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:28pm

yes but my brother has a high speed card reader so it's still annoying :)
A35 -> A50 -> C65 -> SE K608 :( -> EF81 -> E71
brebe85
A step away from n00biness
A step away from n00biness
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:30pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Postby brebe85 » Thu Apr 12, 2007 6:59am

I found a new possible problem.

After the FW update I didn't try to open the filesystem with Bitpim. Last night I gave it a try and an error occured:

"COM9:could not open the port: (2,`Createfile`,`The system cannot find the file specified`)"

What could it be?
A35 -> A50 -> C65 -> SE K608 :( -> EF81 -> E71
brebe85
A step away from n00biness
A step away from n00biness
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:30pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Postby janielsen » Thu Apr 12, 2007 7:00am

the com 9 is still open shut it down and then it shut work again
janielsen
All bow before Jan the Great!
All bow before Jan the Great!
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:19pm

Postby brebe85 » Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:01am

janielsen wrote:the com 9 is still open shut it down and then it shut work again


how? :D
A35 -> A50 -> C65 -> SE K608 :( -> EF81 -> E71
brebe85
A step away from n00biness
A step away from n00biness
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:30pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Postby janielsen » Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:18am

push ctrl alt del down at the same time and then take procceser
and find bitpim and kill it
janielsen
All bow before Jan the Great!
All bow before Jan the Great!
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:19pm

Postby SandStorm » Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:06pm

Or, if you want a faster program with auto detection from the ports, try the BMC :)

http://bezysoftware.net/en/index.html


And is small in download size, near 1Mb ;)


Beside, make sure you don't have MPM running in background and using your port.
User avatar
SandStorm
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11447
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:53pm
Location: Portugal

Postby DireWolf » Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:35pm

SandStorm wrote:Beside, make sure you don't have MPM running in background and using your port.

That also includes Windows Explorer, because of the explorer plugin.
User avatar
DireWolf
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4521
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 10:29pm
Location: Barreiro, Portugal

Postby brebe85 » Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:19pm

I've found the problem: after the software update, the phone connects on COM11 and the Bitpim was set to COM9 :)
A35 -> A50 -> C65 -> SE K608 :( -> EF81 -> E71
brebe85
A step away from n00biness
A step away from n00biness
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:30pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Postby SandStorm » Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:04pm

Good, at least you managed it :)
User avatar
SandStorm
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11447
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:53pm
Location: Portugal

Postby brebe85 » Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:09pm

I have a question for i can't find a clear answer: what is a brew platform and if it's linked with the fact that i can't install java applications by copying them.
A35 -> A50 -> C65 -> SE K608 :( -> EF81 -> E71
brebe85
A step away from n00biness
A step away from n00biness
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:30pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Postby DireWolf » Wed Apr 18, 2007 3:10pm

In this context, "platform" means the hardware system and the basic software to run it. Then, small changes are made to it, such as presence/absence of Bluetooth, a clamshell hinge or voice dialing.
Different platforms have different abilities. Brew, for example, lets you run different apps simultaneously, and requires Java apps to be installed in this specific manner.
User avatar
DireWolf
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4521
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 10:29pm
Location: Barreiro, Portugal

Postby brebe85 » Wed Apr 18, 2007 3:21pm

DireWolf wrote:In this context, "platform" means the hardware system and the basic software to run it. Then, small changes are made to it, such as presence/absence of Bluetooth, a clamshell hinge or voice dialing.
Different platforms have different abilities. Brew, for example, lets you run different apps simultaneously, and requires Java apps to be installed in this specific manner.


waw, thanks! :D .

p.s.: i know what a platform is :P
A35 -> A50 -> C65 -> SE K608 :( -> EF81 -> E71
brebe85
A step away from n00biness
A step away from n00biness
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:30pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: My EF81

Postby saga_gx » Wed Apr 18, 2007 4:00pm

brebe85 wrote:Now i discovered a new problem: if I write music on my microSD card (by the way it's 1GB size :D ) with the card reader the phone won't recognize all the files. From the hole list, just a half is readble. Why? If I pull out the card and write a file, then push it in, the phone indeed recognize the specific file


I hope you don't mind if I use this thread to post my problems, I got the phone a few days ago and I'm still triying to do some things.

could you solve the music problem without the 2files per sesion solution?
I'm having the same problems, when I copy music from my card reader only a few files show up on the player (all mp3)

Anyone knows if the ef81 supports sorting the address book by contact name or first name, by default all contactcs appear sorted by last name wich bothers me.
And can you make the contacts stored on the phone to appear by default and not all the contacts including the sim ones.

Last one , I got super to encode the videos to play on the phone, wich resolution should the videos have?

thanks
saga_gx
Hai! I'm new here! Plz help me!!!1
Hai! I'm new here! Plz help me!!!1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 5:12am

Re: My EF81

Postby brebe85 » Wed Apr 18, 2007 4:47pm

saga_gx wrote:
brebe85 wrote:And can you make the contacts stored on the phone to appear by default and not all the contacts including the sim ones.


You can apply a filter on the fourth tab. :)
A35 -> A50 -> C65 -> SE K608 :( -> EF81 -> E71
brebe85
A step away from n00biness
A step away from n00biness
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:30pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: My EF81

Postby Iver » Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:34pm

saga_gx wrote:Last one , I got super to encode the videos to play on the phone, wich resolution should the videos have?
Use these parameters:
Image
Using now: Nokia Lumia 820
User avatar
Iver
Old Sk00l...
Old Sk00l...
 
Posts: 2722
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 11:00pm
Location: Norway
Next

Return to EF51, EF71, EF81 and EF91

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest