FW58 EF81 Upgrade, when things got wrong. (how to upgrade)

FW58 EF81 Upgrade, when things got wrong. (how to upgrade)

Postby SandStorm » Fri Jul 13, 2007 9:34pm

Did you upgraded your EF81 and all got screwed up?
You don't have network, cannot make phone calls... Do not worry, we'll help you sorting out your problem.
When you install the upgrade, on the 3GSwupFU folder from EF81's FW58 upgrade, you only have those files:

Code: Select all
3GSwupFU2.exe
msvcr71.dll
NPRG6250SEC.HEX
partition.mbn
python24.dll


Right?

Then, you need to add the [template_EF81.brt] file to your 3GSwupFU folder.

You did it?

Good. Now, we shall proceed with the upgrade.


------------------------------


Extended information, how to upgrade EF81 with FW58:

-> remove mem cards
-> remove sim card.
-> take out the battery for 2 to 5 minutes
-> Start the updater
-> place back the battery
-> Turn the phone ON in the Download mode (you press # and keep it pressed while you turn the phone on. now, only the benq-siemens logo is show)
-> plug the phone
-> leave the lid closed
-> press "start" and follow the upgrade instructions.
-> after 10 minutes, it is done.


thx to adfree for the tips
User avatar
SandStorm
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11443
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:53pm
Location: Portugal

Postby SandStorm » Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:21pm

VERY IMPORTANT, BACKUP YOUR NV FILES FIRST BEFORE UPGRADE!!!


1-> Download QPST 2.7 Build 215 from the web (bittorrents, for example)
2-> Install it on your computer.
3-> Go to "QPST configuration" to set up the port for your device. Click on 'add new port' and place the correct com. then, activate it. (normally it set up automatically, but some times, we need to do it first.)
4-> Go to "Software Download". This is where you'll backup your NV files stuff.
5-> Select the 'Backup tab'
6-> Take note the folder where it will be placed, as you can change its name. make sure to leave the same file extension!!!
7-> Click on Start.
8-> Done!!!

-------------------------------------


HOW TO RESTORE YOUR NV ITEMS BACKUP

1-> Go to "Software Download". This is where you'll restore your NV files stuff.
2-> Select the 'Restore tab'
3-> Take note the folder where you have your backup!
4-> Click on Start.
5-> Done!!!
6-> reset the phone, it shall be ok now.
User avatar
SandStorm
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11443
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:53pm
Location: Portugal

Postby minhtrimobile » Fri May 09, 2008 9:20am

my EF81 , can go to download mode,but when upgrade , reseting phone time , it go to factory test mode so it disconect from the 3GSwupFU , anyone have anyidea to recover it?? the first time my phone is ok , update some time ok but one time it have above problem,after that anytime upgarde phone get that problem.

i don't have NV back up! pls help!


Image


Image


Image
minhtrimobile
Hai! I'm new here! Plz help me!!!1
Hai! I'm new here! Plz help me!!!1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 6:35am

Postby SandStorm » Sun May 11, 2008 12:14am

hi mate.
use this nv items:
http://www.siemensplanet.com/SandStorm/ ... 072007.qcn

and do the steps in my post that explain how to restore those items
User avatar
SandStorm
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11443
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:53pm
Location: Portugal

Postby DireWolf » Mon May 12, 2008 5:05pm

Be careful though: some items like the IMEI and the Bluetooth MAC address are one-time writable: once you enter them, you can't change them!
User avatar
DireWolf
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4518
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 10:29pm
Location: Barreiro, Portugal

Postby SandStorm » Mon May 12, 2008 11:32pm

yes, but i suppose he can see his own imei, if then, no danger to him.
User avatar
SandStorm
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11443
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:53pm
Location: Portugal

Postby Bytzu » Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:50pm

SandStorm wrote:yes, but i suppose he can see his own imei, if then, no danger to him.


why it's restarting on and on and i don't get to PIN code to open my phone???
i can't do anything!!!i remember that the last time i tryed it did it like this,the same...but i don't remember what i've did to it...
PLEASE ANSWER URGENT SANDSTORM!!!
Always try 2 be the best or if u can't be better than u R now...
ImageImage
User avatar
Bytzu
Follower of N00Byism
Follower of N00Byism
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:50pm
Location: Calarashy

Postby SandStorm » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:43pm

hi!
but it can stay idle at the pin code window? if yes, then connect it to BMC and navigate to "brew/mod/idle/res/common" and delete the "idle_common.bar"

The phone must start normally now, after one manual turn off\on
User avatar
SandStorm
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11443
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:53pm
Location: Portugal

Postby Bytzu » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:53pm

SandStorm wrote:hi!
but it can stay idle at the pin code window? if yes, then connect it to BMC and navigate to "brew/mod/idle/res/common" and delete the "idle_common.bar"

The phone must start normally now, after one manual turn off\on

nope i didn't got there...i had only the Benq-Siemens logo...as in the Factory Test Mode.anyway i've made it...i've upgraded normally without the template for EF81,then i've put it in the software folder,and after i've started the upgrade i've removed the template for EF81 and upgraded normally and worked.and then i've restored the NV files,i had a little problem with the russian language but i've found where to change the language,and then i had signal and all things...pretty easy...i've made it with no one's help :).oh and another thing...you don't need the template for ef81 if you have the NV files backup.you upgrade your EF81 normally with FW58 and then after you turn it on you restore your NV files from the backup with QPST.
thanks Sand ;)
respect
P.S. remake that tutorial Sand and delete the EF81 template link and all of that,and read what i've did and you'll get a good tutorial.without the putting the template and removing while it's upgrading.it is very simple ;)
Always try 2 be the best or if u can't be better than u R now...
ImageImage
User avatar
Bytzu
Follower of N00Byism
Follower of N00Byism
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:50pm
Location: Calarashy

Postby SandStorm » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:58pm

is a matter to read my second post first before the upgrade, and then, upgrade normally :P

glad u managed it. :)

and btw, to set the language to automatic, press *#0000# and the call key. it will change the language to english :)
User avatar
SandStorm
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11443
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:53pm
Location: Portugal

Postby Bytzu » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:59pm

SandStorm wrote:is a matter to read my second post first before the upgrade, and then, upgrade normally :P

glad u managed it. :)

and btw, to set the language to automatic, press *#0000# and the call key. it will change the language to english :)

i didn't knew that.:-??
not fare >:P :))
Always try 2 be the best or if u can't be better than u R now...
ImageImage
User avatar
Bytzu
Follower of N00Byism
Follower of N00Byism
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:50pm
Location: Calarashy

Postby SandStorm » Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:03pm

lool, well this sticky got messy when i created it :lol:
User avatar
SandStorm
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11443
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:53pm
Location: Portugal

Postby Bytzu » Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:05pm

:))
well...what can i say?it's hard to make a tutorial ,i know it on my own skin...because you must make the other understand what are you writing...and to know what to do,to not get stuck... :))
Always try 2 be the best or if u can't be better than u R now...
ImageImage
User avatar
Bytzu
Follower of N00Byism
Follower of N00Byism
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:50pm
Location: Calarashy

Postby SandStorm » Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:08pm

so true. :)

and the tutorial i had most fun to write, was the one how to change the siemens m65 covers :P
User avatar
SandStorm
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11443
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:53pm
Location: Portugal

Postby Bytzu » Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:10pm

:))
hey man...we're talking hard on here...do you have an hotmail id or something like that except the mail from forum?
a chat program that you have.you can try yahoo messenger if you want or hotmail (MSN).we can talk easyer.
Always try 2 be the best or if u can't be better than u R now...
ImageImage
User avatar
Bytzu
Follower of N00Byism
Follower of N00Byism
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:50pm
Location: Calarashy

Postby SandStorm » Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:12pm

i hate hotmail working, sending pm with that ;)
User avatar
SandStorm
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11443
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:53pm
Location: Portugal

Postby manny0821 » Sun Dec 07, 2008 10:04pm

i have a big problem too!! pls help me
i started the update sofware, i klicked the update button... and then in 3-4 minutes he said critical error or somthin like that, after that i klicked again the update button bicause it was black again, but its didn't made anything and i closed the updater in task maneger. now the phone is dead, i can't turn it on, and it didn't work if i put it on charge :| what can i dooo :((( :? :(
manny0821
Hai! I'm new here! Plz help me!!!1
Hai! I'm new here! Plz help me!!!1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 9:59pm

Postby Bytzu » Mon Dec 08, 2008 7:19pm

uuuuh....
pretty ugly.sincerly i don't know what really to say to you...i had a something like that problem and really i don't know how i made it work...by mistake...all that i can say to you is just try to let him a few hours without battery or at least 15 minutes connect it at the usb cable and keep trying to open it in download mode... (press # and switch on button)
this is all i can say to you...or if you can't make something,maybe you still have the guarantee certificate at it...then you may try to send it at guarantee.
cheers and respect man...sorry but i can help you with more details...SandStorm...enlight us man :))
Always try 2 be the best or if u can't be better than u R now...
ImageImage
User avatar
Bytzu
Follower of N00Byism
Follower of N00Byism
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:50pm
Location: Calarashy

Postby SandStorm » Tue Dec 09, 2008 8:59pm

ouch, pretty hard then.
just take out the battery for a long time, like bytzu said.
Then, once you put it back, turn on in the emergency download mode.

also, you can try out QPST tools, if they can detect some live signals at least, and with it, trying to put in service mode, or download mode, trying then to apply the upgrade.
User avatar
SandStorm
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11443
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:53pm
Location: Portugal

Postby randy4u » Sun Dec 21, 2008 10:40pm

hey..a..i've done all u said and stil ..i have no signal....help me..

i;ve tried 2 time..with the rusian version and brd ..retail..and..nothing ..
randy4u
Hai! I'm new here! Plz help me!!!1
Hai! I'm new here! Plz help me!!!1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 10:34pm
Next

Return to EF51, EF71, EF81 and EF91

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest